are vegetable samosas vegan

are vegetable samosas vegan

Are Vegetable Samosas Vegan?

Vegetable samosas have long been a popular choice as a tasty snack, but are they suitable for those following a vegan lifestyle? Let’s take a closer look.


When made traditionally, vegetable samosas are vegan as they contain no animal products. The common ingredients used are:

  • Chickpea flour
  • Potatoes or pulses (such as split peas)
  • Spices
  • Onions
  • Oil

Shape and Presentation

Vegetable samosas are normally triangular in shape, made up of pastry and are deep-fried. The deep-fried aspect can, however, present an issue as deep-frying is often done with animal fats, such as lard. For a vegan friendly option, veggie samosas can be oven-baked to achieve a crispy texture without animal products.


In conclusion, vegetable samosas can be made in a vegan way; by using vegan friendly ingredients and avoiding deep-frying. The vegan friendly samosas are just as tasty as the deep fried version, so those following a plant-based diet can enjoy the tasty snack as much as everyone else.

So, in answer to the question: Are vegetable samosas vegan? The answer is a resounding YES!

Latest Post

Send Us A Message